This article applies to individual basic users.
To ensure data security, we are refining the way project admin rights operate in MeisterTask. Take a look at the following FAQs to learn more about how this change may affect your team.
What is changing?
This means that external project members (i.e. members who are not part of the team that owns the project) will not be able to have the "Project Admin" role.
External project members who currently have the Administrator role will have their roles changed to Project Members on October 25th, 2023.
Why are these changes being made?
These changes are part of a data security update to ensure that teams own and manage their own data. This also prevents external parties from accessing, modifying, or sharing data without permission.
When will these changes take affect?
The changes will be effective as of October 25, 2023.
What actions should I take?
The actions you should take depend on how you have previously managed project roles and permissions:
To prevent users from losing project Admin privileges, you and the other users you collaborate with should form a team.
To do this: Select one user to be your team leader. This user should then invite all collaborators to their team.
If this user has the Project Admin role in projects you own, they will lose these rights on October 25th, 2023. To ensure you don't lose access to Pro or Business features (e.g. Automations, Custom Fields, etc., the Pro/Business user will need to invite you to their team.
Alternatively, you can upgrade to a Pro or Business plan yourself.
If any of these users have the Project Admin role in projects you own, they will lose these rights on October 25th, 2023. To ensure you don't lose access to Pro or Business features (e.g. Automations, Custom Fields, etc.), the Pro/Business user will need to invite you to their team.
How do I know which team owns a project?
You can view the owner of any project by selecting the Info tab in the Project Settings menu. More information about project ownership be found here.
How can I tell if project members are part of the owning team?
All users who have access to a project are listed under Project Settings -> Members. Members of the owning team are displayed first and marked with a 🔐 icon. External teams that do not own the project are listed separately below the owning team.
In the example below, the team "Philip Demo" owns the project, while other teams (e.g. MeisterLabs) are shown at the bottom of the list.
Where can I find a list of external users who have access to my projects?
Please note that this feature is only available to Team Admins.
Contact MeisterTask Support
Please note that ticket support is only available on Pro, Business and Enterprise plans.
To contact MeisterTask Support:
- Sign in to a paid version of MeisterTask.
- Click the❓Help Menu in the top-right corner of MeisterTask.
- Select Contact Us from the drop-down menu.
Can't contact support:If you are a paying user and unable to access support, click here to reach out directly.